Galatians 2:20b

“So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

I was terribly late for my “morning” devotion today….I didn’t get it read until after 5:00pm. Better late than never, right? Anyway, the lesson from Joyce Meyer today was titled “God-Confidence”.

I obviously needed reminding today that it’s not about having confidence in myself, but rather having confidence in my Creator. The Scripture she used was 1 Corinthians 10:11-12 and the last two sentences stood out the most for me “…Forget about self-confidence; it’s useless. Cultivate God-confidence.” (The Message). How true is that? Nothing can happen without Christ first allowing it. Our very existence is because He created us, we didn’t create ourselves.

Yes, He gave me a brain and the knowledge to use it.  But I know that true wisdom would be to trust absolutely EVERYTHING to Him. Why wouldn’t I? He can see from beginning to end of all eternity. He knows each and every fork in my path and where it will lead. He knows the detours of life and when they will arrive. I think that’s why the second half of Galatians 2:20 stood out to me the most from that Scripture. Like it says, “…I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God…” not by trusting in myself.

I can’t remember who first said it, but it reminds me also of the analogy of our life being an open book and we have to choose who the author will be. Will we write our own biography? Or will we give the pen to the Author and let Him write the story? He’s already written it, we’re still living it. If we stop trying to take control and write our story AS we are trying to live it, we’ll be so much more successful. He will narrate to us if we will just let Him. Give Him the pen, let Him write the story into action, and follow His directions. How much more would we enjoy our life if we simply lived it? If we wore the “live” hat, rather than the multiple hats, “live” “write” “direct” “edit” “problem solve” “foresee” and who knows what else we can come up with.

I shouldn’t be like Moses and give excuse after excuse on why I can’t do something. I should have confidence in Christ and let Him guide my every step, no matter how simple I think it is.

Leave a Reply

