True Worship and Hope

“A time will come, however, indeed it is already here, when the true (genuine) worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth (reality); for the Father is seeking just such people as these as His worshipers.” John 4: 23 Amplified

Genuine….that is the word  which draws my attention. Not only is this Scripture saying true worship in the sense of actual worship and not “playing church” as the phrase goes, but genuine, authentic worship that reflects who we are as an individual in Christ. It it possible that some people may think that if you are in a Sunday morning service singing along with the songs and you are not raising your hands with eyes closed and face raised upward, then you are not fully worshiping. That is because they are not realizing that THEY worship in that manner and are right to do so, but not everyone is. Some people, like myself, have on occasion embraced that abandoned worship, focusing solely on Christ alone. However, more often than not, I am uncomfortable being so open in that manner.

It is not because I want to be secretive in my singing worship, but rather this particular style does not match who I am. If I raise my hands I am more concerned with what others are thinking (which is silly because they aren’t looking at me, they are worshiping our Saviour). This is a work in progress between me and my Lord. When I am alone and listening to the radio during the quite times in my home (albeit a bit rare my home is completely quiet), I am more likely to express my joy in this way. There are no distractions. I know that I should not care what other people think, or what I think other people think. Like I said, a work in progress.

This particular translation encouraged me that I was not wrong to feel this way. You see, my particular style of singing worship during church over the past few years has been a gentle, subtle dance. My worship is quiet. Right now, for me to try and worship any other way would not be genuine. It would not be me. It would be an imitation of what I perceived to be “correct” worship, when in reality there is no one and only “correct” worship style. My meeting with Christ can only be expressed accurately, authentically, and genuinely if I am honest.

Perhaps one day I will grow in my confidence in Him to be able to have utter abandon. I truly hope I will. But until that day comes, I will not believe the lie that I am not a good Christian if I don’t worship like everyone else in my congregation, in a family member or friend’s congregation, or a televised congregation.

Leave a Reply

