Hello Mornings Summer Challenge~Week 1

Imagehttp://www.hellomornings.org/info/

 

Okay, so I didn’t post again nearly as quickly as I thought I would. But, I am here, during week 1 of the Summer challenge. I haven’t decided yet if I am going to do a weekly update or if I will post on a daily basis, or what. Since I discovered there are 5 days for Scripture readings for each week, I think I am going to do the readings for Monday through Friday, Saturday will be for the “extras” like researching the areas I studied, then Sunday I will post my weekly notes to share with you all.

 

Sound like a plan? It sounds like one to me. However, I do want to start with sharing my notes during the first day’s reading. I am reading the devotion that was available on the Hello Mornings website, Meet Jesus: The Book of John

The first day’s reading was John 1:1-18 and I read it on my Kindle (Leicester as I refer to it) and nothing seemed really different to me. Same ol’ same ol’ that I heard uber-amount of times before. THEN, I re-read the Scripture on the computer and used the New Living Translation (my personal favorite) and verses 4 and 5 really inspired me.

 

“…and his life brought light to everyone. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.” 4b-5

 

What a promise! Jesus (the light) shines in the darkness (Satan and this world) and the darkness (evil) can NEVER extinguish it.

Once again I am reminded of a lighthouse in a dark, stormy night. The ship may be surrounded by darkness, and the light of the lighthouse might fade from view of the ship because of the rough waters rocking it about; but the light still shines, always and forever.

 

One of these days I am going to find a picture of a lighthouse and a ship in a stormy night, and I will add this Scripture to it. As of yet, I have not found any lighthouse pictures that fit what I have in my mind.

 

Now it is back to chores, making lunch, and eventually “school” for my little hurricane. He was so excited yesterday to write the number zero (both as 0 and as “zero”) and write the uppercase and lowercase A, as well as a maze, a connect the dots, and a coloring page with the sign language picture for “a”. Today we will cover zero again, and introduce B. I’m not sure what I will do when we are finished with the 26 letters of the alphabet.

 

3 thoughts on “Hello Mornings Summer Challenge~Week 1

Leave a Reply

