Hello Mornings Week 9 Review

hello mornings

My my, today marks day 1 of week 10 out of 13 already. I am so glad I continued with this challenge a second time. I know I will continue to be in the Hello Morning challenges indefinitely.

Day 1: John 13:21-30

I was going to compare different translations, but sadly did not get it done. So many distractions this summer now that I am back with family and away from the city busy-ness.

Day 2: John 13:31-38

“…The time has come for me, the Son of Man, to enter into my glory, and God will receive glory because of all that happens to me.” v 31

We know now that Jesus’ glory on earth was not overthrowing the government and ruling in splendor as an earthly king. Rather His glory was diminishing Himself as a human so that God the Father could be recognized and glorified in everything Christ did, even to the cross.

It reminds me of the XII Stone Altar song (not to be confused with XII Stone, evidently another band with a similar name exists) based on John 3:30 “We must decrease so He can increase”.

Day 3: John 14:1-14

Verses 8 and 9 were a discussion between Jesus and Philip:

“Philip said, ‘Lord, show us the Father and we will be satisfied.’ Jesus replied ‘Philip, don’t you even know yet who I am, even after all the time that I have been with you? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father! So why are you asking to see Him?’…”

Sometimes I think we lose people with all the Christian terminology that we use, and we probably don’t realize it. Tell a fellow Christian someone got saved and they will know what you are saying, but someone else may look at you and say “saved from what?”

It also shows me that as humans our tendency is to never be satisfied. Even when you know Christ, we still tend to want more. More books (ahem, over 100 books on my Kindle), more technology items (ahem, again…Kindle and the old laptop for me. For my husband, a smart phone, a tablet, a MacBook Air, a GPS watch…). These things are not bad and owning them is not wrong. However, in our world/society we shouldn’t get something just because we can. God will supply all our needs and I know for my family He supplies them by having us use our brains, our hands, our feet..working for a paycheck and earning the money for what we need. (Granted, my husband is on leave and I am semi-actively looking for work, but our plans are full-time work for me and possibly part-time work for my husband by this fall).

And we can most certainly get things we want, we just need to maintain a healthy balance. Does one person NEED 50 shoes? Does a family of two NEED three computers? Do we NEED 5 TVs with satellite in a 3 bedroom house? Do we NEED a 3,000 square foot home with 4 rooms and a 2 car garage, when our family only has 1 child who is still under school age?

For me, the answers are no. These are things that would be nice, but are not needed. I could probably find a semi-legitimate need for 5 shoes for myself, but not 50. And I think a 1,500 square foot house is more than adequate for us at this time….even a townhouse would be adequate.

Day 4: John 14:15-31

Sometimes I wonder why Jesus refers to the Father; and when we speak about the Trinity why we say God is our Father and Jesus is our brother. If Jesus is God He is our Father, isn’t He? I have grown up in the Christian terminology and it still confuses me at times.

Day 5: John 15:1-17

This passage is Jesus using the vines and their fruit as a way to explain part of our spiritual life.

“He cuts off every branch that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more.”

In both instances, there is some cutting required. There will be pain involved. Being a follower of Jesus Christ is not a magic pill that will make everything in our life perfect. We will have moments of conflict, we will have days that we will feel emotionally tired and weary. There is no “trick for success” to avoid these. We will have to face them…but we do not have to face them alone. We do not have to figure out the journey we need to take, as our path is already laid before us. We simply have to follow the instructions we hear from His voice.

Leave a Reply

