Sadly neglected no more

“Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.” v9 NLT

 Today is day 2 out of week 4 in my third Hello Mornings Challenge. I have severely neglected this blog during that time, even though I have been taking notes. Today, we are reading Ephesians 2:1-10 and are told to look for TRUTHS, here are mine:

MY TRUTHS ABOUT:

The Father: Loves us beyond our comprehension. Salvation is a gift. Now, the first thing that can come to my mind about verse 9 is the different religions of the world that require you to be “the best of the best” to earn your “special place” in Heaven. But I’m reminded that not only is that not necessary, my succeeding each day in this challenge DOES NOT determine my level of salvation. My acceptance by Christ is NOT based upon my ability to get up bright eyed and bushy tailed, but is solely based on my acceptance of Christ’s accepting me. I can and will….and have had, days that I am a total failure at rising first and meeting my goals. I can and will and have been lazy and selfish and accomplish absolutely nothing. That does NOT mean I am no longer loved by my Creator. That does NOT mean I have to beat myself up and grade myself with a big fat F.

Me before: I was dead and doomed. I pictured Ted Dekker’s Circle series, the people are all covered in a nastiness that can only be cleansed in a certain pool, until one day their Savior is sacrificed over that pool and his blood in the pool permanently heals the people, but only if they will accept that they have to enter in and cleanse themselves. There were only 3 books when I read the series, but they were a beautiful analogy of the story of salvation and Christ’s sacrifice for us, and His command to love everyone as He loved us.

Me as follower: I am God’s masterpiece. I am not a broken shell, I am a beautiful masterpiece right now.

Leave a Reply

