BOOK REVIEW: A Noble Masquerade by Kristi Ann Hunter

noble masquerade

Thanks to Bethany House for my complimentary copy of this first time author.

When I selected this book for review, it was a bit of an accident. I thought clicking on the photo in my email would link me to more information, but instead I got the pop-up message that my order had been received, etc etc. But, I figured it would be good for me to branch out from my usual readings, and this was definitely not my usual readings.

I was reading books of this genre/style (ex. Love Comes Softly) around middle school or early high school age. I wasn’t exactly exuberant with anticipation of it’s arrival, but I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly entertained when I finished reading.

Kristi Ann Hunter transports us  back to the days of formal courting, curricles, and Napoleon’s spies in England. The “leading lady” of the story reminded me of a mix between Lady Edith Crawley caught in the shadow of her sister and Maggie Tulliver trying desperately to reign in her personal nature that seems to stray so far from the ladylike persona she is supposed to maintain. Then we have the “leading man” who is masking his true identity (although we learn early on who he is, the majority of the characters do not). Both are masquerading for a noble purpose.

While it is not my traditionally chosen genre for entertainment, I would gladly request another copy of this author if a new book were to be made available.

Rating: gold stargold stargold stargold stargold star

Leave a Reply

